Be You, Remain You

 

Growing up should not change me; mutilate,

To the point where the child I used to be dies,

I can learn and grow,

Yet still retain the essence of me.

IMG-20151118-WA0007

I can learn from you,

But I do not want to be you,

For the unique person of me has value too,

To grow without loosing the essence of me,

Is the rule of a balanced life.

 

You can learn from me too,

But never strive to become me,

For a copy always pales next to the original,

You are original and need not become a copy.

Why should we loose our selves in growth?

I would rather we celebrate our unique differences.

 

Abimbola Onaoluwa 2016

This is Rule 3 of the 2016 Rules.

2 thoughts on “Be You, Remain You

  1. Our uniqueness makes the world an interesting place to be, like they say, variety is the spice of life.

    The world would be a boring place to be if we all have the act/behave the same way.

    Let’s grow in our uniqueness and learn from others without imitating them, because Imitation brings limitation.

    Thanks for the post, learnt some things from it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

