Old Poems (a series)

MEMORIES

Were I the sands of time?
I would hold the secrets of the ages,
Some barely traced patterns,
Passing on unremembered shortly after their demise, Aye, never mind the
design’s span, No depth and it soon fizzles away;

DSCN7457

Another house coming up?

Others built huge edifices,
All still crumbles from time,
Perchance, wisely built,
Often lies buried till rediscovery;

Truly great spend and spent,
Themselves relics of a bygone era,
Best testimonies of the past,
Rebuilt to a resurrection,
Double lives, near eternal icons,
Buried, decayed but pulsing with life still, Sweet and rancid, positive or
negative, Recollections of a long forgotten dream.

C Abimbola Onaoluwa  – 2012
##########################

_______________________________________________________________

 

I used to submit poems on the nigerians.biz website . My dismay when the website “disappeared”from the internet can only be imagined. My joy knew no bounds,  when I realised that I d sent some of the poems by email to the webmaster (as backup) when the submit form on the site had glitches.

 

So , I m going to post them here … and thank God I could recover at least some…wpid-images-1.jpg.jpeg

Leave a Reply

